A Look at Graduation

On May 21, Endicott College’s Class of 2011 graduated on the athletic field on a lovely day of mixed sun and fog. Coming off a week of rain and chill, it was quite a relief to not worry about the weather! Smiles were everywhere, along with waving supporters, camera flashes, and proud parents. Here are some facts, related links, and memories of that day:


–          Saturday was Endicott College’s 71st graduation.


–          The Endicott College Class of 2011, comprising of all undergraduate, graduate, and international students is 752 strong. The breakdown includes: 295 Master of Arts, Master of Education, Master of Science, or Master of Business Administration degrees, 445 Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Arts, or Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees, and 7 Associate in Arts or Associate in Science degrees.


–          The graduation speaker was Baroness Sue Campbell, chair of Youth Sports Trust, an England-based charity focusing on physical education and sports. Baroness Campbell was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters on Saturday.


–          Endicott also awarded an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters to Virginia “Ginger” Judge, a 1951 Endicott graduate who organized the first Southern Connecticut Alumnae Club in 1959 and has served on the Board of Trustees since 1986. Currently Ginger is the President/ CEO of Honeycomb Company of America, Inc., a manufacturer of replacement military parts.


–          English Professor Dr. Daniel Sklar was awarded the 2011 Excellence in Teaching Award, an honor voted on by the graduating class. Those familiar with Dr. Sklar’s penchant for traveling by bicycle were treated to the two-wheeler’s appearance at his entertaining Baccalaureate speech on Friday the 20th.


–          Thank you to the Class Officers for a putting on a successful Senior Week and for their efforts to raise funds for the class gift.  They raised $11,600 which will go toward redesigning the bridge to the island near the amphitheatre. The officers are: Lauren Gilligan, President, Alexandra Yavarow, Vice President, Cameron Chaviano, Secretary, and Patrick Lundgren, Treasurer.


–          At the Awards Ceremony on Friday, May 20, 33 students were presented with awards. See below for a full list of all the well-deserving recipients.


–          The Salem News announced the local graduates here.


–          Graduating student body president Annie Bolton talks about leadership, building community and volunteer work with the Boston Globe here.


–          View graduation photos here on Flickr or here on Facebook.


–          View the Storify timeline from graduation, including Tweets, Facebook updates, photos and video from a variety of students and family members.


Congratulations to the Class of 2011!



President’s Award Winners

Anne Eileen Bolton

Colton James Cassanelli

Christopher Paul Gugino

Brittany J. Pasko

Elise Lori Perkins


College Awards

Leadership Award –  Lauren Eileen Gilligan

Campus Activities – Daniel MacPherson


Cultural Ambassador

Erin Marie Shattuck – Domestic

Kwasi Amoafo Baah International


Diane Meyers Halle Award for Outstanding Commitment to Volunteerism

Sarah Marie DiDonatis

Janelle E. Pilarski


Student Athletes

Christopher Paul Gugino

Ashley Elizabeth Wright


Academic Awards

School of Arts and Science

Humanities – Stephanie Carlisle

Science and Technology – Max Thomas Baun

Social Sciences – Rebecca Anne Malouf


School of Business

Business Administration – Christopher Paul Gugino

Accounting – Jamie Leigh Stevens


School of Communications

Communication – Tracy Lynn Laverriere


School of Education

Liberal Studies, Teacher Licensure – Krista Anne Beyer


School of Hospitality Management

Hospitality Management – Elise Lori Perkins


School of Nursing

Nursing – Carissa Paige Valentine


School of Sports Science and Fitness Studies

Athletic Training – Sydney A. Harrington

Physical Education Teacher Licensure – Allison Caitlin Murphy

Sports Management – Tracey Ann O’Leary


School of Visual and Performing Arts

Fine Arts – Breanna Krystal Steinberg

Interior Design – Alexandra Nicole Yavarow

Visual Communications – Ellyxandria L. Ferguson


Senior Thesis Awards

School of Arts and Sciences – Briana Marie Quitadamo
School of Business – Teagan Jaye Haggerty
School of Education – Krista Anne Beyer
School of Sport Science and Fitness Studies – Sydney A. Harrington
School of Visual and Performing Arts – Kirsten M. Smith